Vegetarian Chile Verde Pulled Pork

burrito, pulled pork, salsa verde, vegan, vegan burrito, vegan mexican food, vegan pulled pork, vegan recipe, vegetarian, vegetarian burrito, vegetarian mexican food, vegetarian pulled pork, vegetarian recipe

Untitled

This is a recipe I made months and months ago and totally forgot to post. I had these amazing burritos BV (Before Vegetarian) that included: steak and pico topped with chile verde pork and melted cheese with your choice of beans. Believe that it’s the best burrito I’ve ever had.

In hopes of recreating it, I went in search for a chile verde pulled pork recipe. There were a handful online and so I decided to take a few and mash them up to suit my needs. I make a huge batch and freeze it (freezes really well) so that when I make burritos, it goes right on top of those monstrous puppies. Shit.. I actually need to make more.

2 cans jackfruit
1 yellow onions, chopped
2 Anaheim chiles
1 jalapeno, minced
2 tablespoons garlic, chopped
1 pound tomatillos (salsa verde)
1/4 cup white wine
1/8 cup white vinegar
1/2 cup vegetarian chicken stock
1 tablespoons ground oregano
1 tablespoons ground cumin
1/2 tablespoon salt
1/2 tablespoon ground black pepper

400 degrees. Heat oil in a pan and add the onion, peppers and garlic. Saute until translucent, do not brown. Remove and add jackfruit and spices to the pan. Add chicken broth and simmer until it’s absorbed. Mash until it looks like pulled pork and put in the oven for 20 minutes. Add the onion-pepper mixture and salsa verde, wine and vinegar to the pork. Return to the over another 20 minutes.

The below is not my picture and not what jackfruit looks like when pulled, but use your imagination and try to keep your lunch down, I know it’s not a pretty dish. What it lacks in the not-looking-like-diarrhea department, it more than makes up in flavor.

finished-2

Talk to me!

