Vegan, Gluten-Free brownies that taste like BROWNIES!!!!

avocado oil, black bean brownies, black bean vegan, brownie muffins, brownies, cacao powder, coconut oil, early christmas, healthy dessert, superfood, vegan brownies, vegan dessert

2163

I’m not a huge fan of brownies (chill, I know…) but since I had a pant-load of soaked/cooked black beans leftover in the fridge, I figured I might as well make something not burrito-related out of it.

The last time I tried making black bean brownies, they sucked so bad my nieces stepped away from them slowly and looked up at me in horror. Not looking to scar them for life again, I changed a different recipe to my liking and it came out awesome!

Best thing about the recipe? Aside from the sugar, it’s actually really great for you. Cacao and black beans are superfoods (Google it, I’m lazy) and if you’re adding nuts, you amp up the superfood-ness of these badass yum-bombs.

COOL_BEANS_answer_1_xlarge

Stuff you’ll need:

2 cups soaked and cooked black beans, rinsed well (or use a 15 oz can and rinse the goop off)
2 large flax eggs
3 T avocado oil (use whatever you want, man)
1/2 cup cacao powder
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
3/4 heaping cups sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Stuff you’ll do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 12-slot standard size muffin pan.
Prepare flax egg by combining flax and water in food processor and let rest for a few minutes.
Add remaining ingredients and pulse until way smooth. Pour batter into muffin tin. At this point you can add crushed walnuts, pecans or chocolate chips – whatever your little heart desires.
Bake for 25 minutes or until the tops are dry and the edges start to pull away from the sides. Remove and let cool for 30 minutes before removing from pan. They will be tender, so remove gently with a fork. The insides are super moist and fudgy.
Store in an airtight container for up to a few days. Refrigerate to keep longer. I put mine in the fridge and found I love them cold soooo much.

And now, early Christmas:

Santa-Hat-Brownies

Talk to me!